I wanna wow

I’ve something very exciting to announce.  On May 2 & 3, you can attend a cabaret made up of two dozen of my songs.

It’s called Things We Do For Love, features a cast of six, and plays in Greenwich Village at The Duplex, 61 Christopher Street, corner of Seventh Avenue South, NY, NY (212) 255-5438

Show-times are:

Monday May 2, 2011 at 9:30 p.m.

Tuesday May 3, 2011 at 7:00 p.m.

Tickets are $12, and there is a two-drink minimum.

I can assure you of one thing: You will laugh your ass off.

So, those of you who like to laugh.  Or those of you who have asses you’d like to have off, make reservations as soon as possible.  Here be links:

Monday May 2 at 9:30 p.m.

Tuesday May 3 at 7:00 p.m.

There are those who use their blogs for nothing but self-promotion, and I realize anything I say about the show might therefore be greeted with some skepticism.  But you’ve come to this page because you’re interested in what I have to say about musical theatre writing.  Shouldn’t it pique your curiosity about whether I can walk the walk as well as talk the talk?  And even if you disagree with everything I say here – perhaps you love Be Prepared and You Don’t Know This Man; American Idiot and Lost in the Stars, and are horrified by my critiques – doesn’t it make you say “Wonder if he could do better?”

And my songs – no matter how good they are – were created to be heard live.  I don’t think it’s egotistical to point out that you haven’t heard what I can do unless you’ve heard one of my counterpoint ensembles with five or six different melodies simultaneously hitting your ears from different positions in the performance space.  Like many a laughter-provoking experience, the phrase “You had to be there” applies.

She’s in it

You have to be here.  Come to the cabaret.

So's he

Leave a Reply

